Home » English » Govt moves motion to suspended 11 Seemandhra MPs

Govt moves motion to suspended 11 Seemandhra MPs

New Delhi, August 22 : The Congress-led UPA Government on Thursday moved a motion in the Lok Sabha seeking suspension of 11 members – seven from Congress and four from TDP – for disrupting the proceedings over the issue of bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh.

As soon as the Lok Sabha met at 11 AM on Thursday, the MPs from Seemandhra region started protest disrupting the proceedings to the extent that within four minutes it was adjourned for 15 minutes. The uproar over Telangana and missing coal blocks allocation files continued when the House re-assembled at 12.01 PM. While the BJP-led NDA members were demanding reply of Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh’s reply on the coal blocks issue, the Seemandhra MPs continued their protest demanding justice for all regions.

Speaking on the issue, BJP leader Sushma Swaraj said that her party supports formation of Telangana. However, she blamed the Congress party for the ruckus in Parliament over the statehood issue. She said that the Congress was unable to even convince its Chief Minister on the issue.

At 12:15 PM, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kamalnath moved a resolution to suspend 11 MPs for disrupting the House. They are Konakalla Narayana, M Venugopala Reddy, Siva Prasad and Nimmala Kishtappa from TDP and Anatha Venktrami Reddy, Lagadapati Rajagopal, Vundavalli Arun Kumar, Rayapati Sambasiva Rao, Harsha Kumar, Magunta Srinivasa Reddy and Sai Pratap from Congress.

The Uproar continued in the Lok Sabha and some MPs entered the well of the House seeking justice. The MPs holding banners protesting against State’s bifurcation tried to remove the microphone from the Speaker’s table.

Opposing the motion, Sushma Swaraj threatened that her party would stage a walkout if the motion is put to vote. Later, she demanded division of votes on the motion demanding suspension of 11 MPs. Following protest by the opposition parties, Speaker Meira Kumar adjourned the Lok Sabha for the day. INN

Govt moves motion to suspended 11 Seemandhra MPs

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top