Home » Andhra Pradesh » MIM enters Maharashtra Assembly

MIM enters Maharashtra Assembly

Hyderabad, Oct 19 (INN): The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen has entered the Maharashtra State Legislative Assembly by winning two seats and leading in two others.

While Syed Imtiaz Jalil won the Aurangabad Central seat against his nearest rival Pradeep Jaiswal of Shivsena by over 20,000 votes, Advocate Waris Yusuf Pathan registered victory over Madhu Chavan of BJP by about 850 votes. Similarly, MIM candidate Dr Abdul Gaffar Quadri is leading by over 16,000 votes in Aurangabad East constituency and Moin Akhter is leading in Nanded South by nearly 7,000 votes. The final results are likely to be declared by 3 PM.

The MIM has fielded 24 candidates in 288 Assembly who results were declared on Sunday.

Hundreds of MIM supporters had gathered at party headquarters Darul-salaam and celebrated the party’s debut in Maharashtra Assembly. This is the first time that the MIM has contested and won the Assembly elections outside Hyderabad.

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top