Home » Specials » Central Government’s Minority Welfare Schemes

Central Government’s Minority Welfare Schemes

The Union Ministry of Minority Welfare implements the following schemes for the welfare of notified religious minority communities under Section 2 (c) viz Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Jains and Parsis across the country:-

Educational Empowerment Schemes

i. Pre-Matric Scholarship
ii. Post-Matric Scholarship
iii. Merit-cum-Means Scholarship
iv. Maulana Azad National Fellowship
v. Free Coaching & Allied Scheme
vi. Support to minority candidates clearing Prelims conducted by UPSC/SSC, State Public Service Commission (PSC) etc.,
vii. Padho Pardesh- Interest Subsidy on Educational Loans for overseas studies.

Area Development Scheme

i. Multi Sectoral Development Programme (MsDP)

Skill Development Schemes

i. Seekho Aur Kamao
ii. Upgrading the Skills and Training Traditional Arts/Crafts for Development (USTTAD)
iii. Hamari Dharohar

Women Empowerment Scheme

i. Nai Roshni

The details of the above schemes are available on the website of this Ministry at www.minorityaffairs.gov.in.

Representations/grievances received from time to time under the Educational Empowerment Schemes are addressed as per scheme guidelines and laid down procedures.

The Multi-sectoral Development Programme (MsDP) being a Centrally Sponsored Scheme is implemented by the State Governments/UT Administrations through different implementing agencies under their control. References regarding grievances/problems relating to implementation of scheme received by the Ministry are sent to the concerned State/UT for necessary action at their end.

Under Skill Development Schemes, one complaint was received in respect of one Project Implementing Agency (PIA) in Delhi under “Seekho aur Kamao” in April 2015 regarding non-disbursal of stipend and employment. This complaint was later enquired by the Ministry and was found to be false.

Under Women Empowerment Scheme, no complaints have been received. Only representations of individuals are received for their grievances which are addressed as per procedure.

Under the Educational Empowerment Schemes, self-certified certificate for religious community is acceptable under all above mentioned schemes w.e.f 2014-15.

Self attested certificates are accepted under the Skill Development Schemes and Women Empowerment Scheme from the Project Implementing Agencies (PIAs) and trainees.


Check Also

MBT condemns BJP stand on ‘Liberation Day’

Share this on WhatsAppHyderabad, Sept 12 (INN): The ...