Home » Hyderabad » Centre sets up Smart City Task Force for Vizag
Venkaiaha Naidu

Centre sets up Smart City Task Force for Vizag

Hyderabad, March 4 (INN): Union Minister for Urban Development M Venkaiah Naidu has set up city-wise Task Forces for drawing up concrete Action Plans for development of Ajmer, Allahabad and Visakhapatnam as Smart Cities.

These Committees have representatives of the Ministries of Urban Development and External Affairs, respective state governments and cities and the United States Trade Development Agency (USTDA).

Setting up of these Task Forces is in pursuance of the decision taken at a recent meeting between Venkaiah Naidu and the US Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker in New Delhi. USTDA and the three respective state governments signed Memoranda of Understanding for cooperation in developing Ajmer, Allahabad and Visakhapatnam as Smart Cities on January 25 this year.

During the last visit of Prime Minister Narendra Modi to the USA and the strategic and commercial dialogue with President Barack Obama, the US offered to assist in the development of these three cities as smart cities.

The Task Force for Visakhapatnam will be headed by Secretary (Town and Country Planning), Government of AP, Secretary(Municipal Affairs), District Collector, Municipal Commissioner, Vice-Chairman, Visakhapatnam Urban Development Authority, Mayor of the city, Joint Secretary(Urban Development), Government of India and representatives of Ministry of External Affairs, Indian Navy and USTDA.